County Assemblies were created by the Article 176 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010. The County Assembly of Nakuru came into effect in March 2013 when it had its first sitting and swore in elected Members and thereafter elected its first Speaker, Hon Susan Kihika. The County Assembly Service Board was then established as set out in Section 12 (7) of the County Governments Act 2012.

The assembly during the period of 2013-2017 had 74 members; 55 elected and 19 nominated to fulfill specific constitutional requirements. Among the 55 elected members were 47 men and 8 women. Of the 19 nominated members, 17 were women and 2 men to satisfy Article 177 (b) and (c) on gender, youth, minorities, marginalized groups and persons with disabilities.

Currently, (2017-2022 period), the assembly has 78 members; 55 elected and 23 nominated. The Speaker of the second assembly is Hon Joel Maina Kairu.

The County Assembly of Nakuru is vested with the authority to legislate, exercise oversight and represent its constituents. The members of the Assembly are charged with the responsibility to maintain close contact with the electorate and consult them regularly on issues under debate on the floor of the House and committees and provide a linkage between the assembly and the electorate on public service delivery, while extending professional knowledge and experience on any issue for discussion in the assembly.

The operations and proceedings of the Assembly are guided by the Nakuru County Assembly Standing Orders and the Speakers Rules. The Assembly conducts its business through various committees which consists of members of the Assembly.


County Assembly Leadership

The County Assembly Service Board is established pursuant to Section 12 of the County Governments Act, 2012 and is tasked with providing services and facilities to ensure the efficient and effective functioning of the county assembly.

The Clerk of the Assembly carries out the administrative functions and is the secretary of the Board. The Board also comprises of a representative of the majority party which is the largest party or coalition of parties in the assembly and a representative of the minority party which is the second largest party or coalition of parties in the assembly. Two qualified representatives of the community also sit on the board as members.



To attain a cohesive, socio-economically and politically developed county based on the rule of law, constitutionalism and participative democracy.



To promote democratic and accountable exercise of power in Nakuru County through progressive legislation, faithful representation and effective public oversight


Core Values

  • Equity and equality
  • Good governance
  • Public participation
  • Accountability and transparency
  • Integrity
  • Bipartisanship
  • Professionalism
  • Innovativeness